Tanja Brandmayr / Astrid Benzer
POSTGLOW CINEMA


7 Minutes Counterworld and Quantum Cinema
Fri, 10. Sept, 18:00-24:00
Sat, 11. Sept, 08:00-24:00
Sun, 12. Sept, 08:00-18:00
Workshop-Space

Content consisting of light, rhythmization and image fragments is projected onto an afterglow surface. Motion sequences and text are explored as a cinema with afterglow properties.

Projection surfaces, interior and exterior relations, questions of consciousness, materiality and media are thematized. It is about screen, light and content in phosphorescent cinema mode. Phosphorescence describes a quantum physical effect in the excitation of light: In the interaction of the components, a reference on a prototypical quantum cinema is created here, in which the light surfaces in the high-energy mode change back to a low-energy level by emitting the photons previously absorbed. With and in this afterglow, short scenes of body presences are shown in obfuscation, inversion, or as an early chronophotography image quotation. At stake in the digital paradigm shift are fundamental questions about what kinds of form/content even transition into what is often called “immersive” in a technology context. But what does actual immersion mean? With Postglow Cinema we're making the auratic technology shine. Diffusivity instead of hyperreality.
-
Post Glow Cinema was shown as a prototype in the summer of 2021 at electropixel 11, as part of the STWST and APO33 Exchanges at Plateforme Intermédia in Nantes/F.

Astrid Benzer (AT) born 1972 in Wels. Studied Visual Media Design and Experimental Visual Design at the University of Artistic and Industrial Design in Linz. Lives and works in Marchtrenk and Linz in the crossover jungle of art & graphics.

Tanja Brandmayr (AT) is artist and writer and has been working for many years and in different contexts between text, media, staging and art. Art and context research Quasikunst in cooperation with STWST. Also editor and author for art and culture magazines. Lives in Linz/Austria. https://quasikunst.stwst.at

Post Glow Cinema is related to the art and research field Quasikunst.

Tanja Brandmayr / Astrid Benzer
POSTGLOW CINEMA


7 Minuten Gegenwelt-Quanten-Kino
Fr, 10. Sept, 18:00-24:00
Sa, 11. Sept, 08:00-24:00
So, 12. Sept, 08:00-18:00
Werkstatt

Content aus Licht, Rhythmisierung und Bildfragmenten wird auf eine Nachleuchtfläche projiziert. Bewegungssequenzen und Text werden als prototypisches Kino mit Nachleucht-Eigenschaft untersucht.

Projektionsflächen, Innen- und Außenverhältnisse, Bewusstseinsfragen, Materialität und Medien werden thematisiert. Es handelt sich um Leinwand, Licht und Content im phosphoreszierenen Kinomodus. Phosphoreszenz beschreibt dabei einen quantenphysikalischen Effekt bei der Lichtanregung: Im Zusammenspiel der Komponenten entsteht hier ein Quanten-Cinema, bei dem die Lichtflächen im Hochenergiemodus durch die Abgabe der zuvor aufgenommenen Photonen wieder in einen Niedrigenergielevel wechseln. Mit und in diesem Nachleuchten werden kurze Szenen von Körperpräsenzen in Diffusität, Umkehrung oder als frühes Chronofotografie-Bildzitat gezeigt. Im digitalen Paradigmenwechsel geht es um Grundsatzfragen, welche Arten von Form/Content überhaupt in etwas übergehen, was im Technologiekontext oft als „immersiv“ bezeichnet wird. Was bedeutet aber ein tatsächliches Eintauchen? Wir bringen mit dem Postglow Cinema die auratische Technologie zum Leuchten. Unschärfe statt Hyperrealität.
-
Post Glow Cinema wurde als Prototyp im Sommer 2021 im Rahmen von electropixel 11, im Rahmen des Exchanges von STWST und APO33 in der Plateforme Intermédia in Nantes/F gezeigt.



Astrid Benzer (AT) geboren 1972 in Wels. Studierte Visuelle Mediengestaltung und Experimentelle Visuelle Gestaltung an der Universität für künstlerische und industrielle Gestaltung in Linz. Lebt und arbeitet in Marchtrenk und Linz im Crossover-Dschungel von Kunst & Grafik.

Tanja Brandmayr (AT) ist Künstlerin und Autorin und arbeitet seit vielen Jahren und in unterschiedlichen Kontexten zwischen Text, Medien, Inszenierung und Kunst. Kunst- und Kontextforschung Quasikunst in Kooperation mit STWST. Außerdem Redakteurin und Autorin für Kunst- und Kulturmagazine. Lebt in Linz/Österreich. https://quasikunst.stwst.at

Post Glow Cinema steht im Zusammenhang mit der Kunst- und Researchschiene Quasikunst.