Julian Stadon / Roland van Dierendonck
THE RIVERBANK BUFFET


A Performative Riverbank Buffet and Workshop

Riverbank Buffet
Fr., 10. Sept, 18:30-20:30, STWST DeckDock
Riverbank Buffet Workshop: Islands of the Day Before Workshop
Sat., 11. Sept, 11:00 - 13:00, Meeting Point: STWST Entrance


Riverbank Buffet uses public, artistic approaches to raise awareness of food and the environment, using the theme of microbiology as a catalyst for change.

Much like a buffet, this project brings together several different approaches to food production from around the world, into a single ecological palette for all to enjoy, using food that is grown exclusively along the Danube, using both traditional and modern methods that address issues of pollution, ecosystem recovery and health, through artistic analysis and experimentation with microbes.

The project presents an approach to public engagement in local urban ecologies, incorporating the idea of tiny tastings of food, science and ecological farming that all relate to this central idea of riverbank-based food, presented as a buffet style picnic that then continues as a workshop the following day. This collection of small art, science and culinary projects scale food ecologies from the microbial to the human world.

Presented as a dégustation menu, these ‘tiny bites’ will each consist of a small dish, a drink and an ecological artwork. The site of this project, Stadtwerkstatt Deckdock is a high-traffic area used for leisure and we aim to spread awareness through public, artistic approaches to food that use microbiology as a catalyst for change.




Julian Stadon / Roland van Dierendonck : This project builds upon previous collaborations between Julian and Roland at the WAAG BioHack Academy in The Netherlands and for the TeleAgriCulture project at Cultivamos Cultura in Portugal. As a resident of Linz, Julian has previously collaborated with Stadtwerkstatt on several projects involving networked technological approaches to interfacing agriculture, ecology, food production, and art. Roland, previously developed the Ecosystematic Lunch, an edible journey through food chains and while living in Norway, he has among other things, organized soil related workshops with the Norwegian Bio-Art Arena, using chromatography to assess soil health. In this project they bring a combined transdisciplinary expertise in using methods that bridge art, science and society, particularly with a focus on creating new forms of experience and communication.

https://vimeo.com/julianstadon
https://teleagriculture.org/
https://rolandvandierendonck.com/


Supported by the MakerXchange Project's Hyper Local/Hyper Local program/exchange.

Fb: @makersxchange.eu and @CreativeEuropeEU, Tw: @makersxchange, #CreativeEurope and @europe_creative, Insta: #CreativeEurope

Julian Stadon / Roland van Dierendonck
RIVERBANK BUFFET


Performatives Riverbank Buffet und Workshop

Riverbank Buffet
Fr., 10. Sept, 18:30-20:30, STWST DeckDock
Riverbank Buffet Workshop: Islands of the Day Before Workshop
Sa., 11. Sept, 11:00 - 13:00, Treffpunkt: STWST Eingang

Das Riverbank Buffet schärft mit öffentlichen, künstlerischen Ansätzen das Bewusstsein für Lebensmittel und Umgebung und nutzt das Thema der Mikrobiologie als Katalysator für Veränderungen.

Ähnlich wie ein Buffet bringt dieses Projekt verschiedene Ansätze der Lebensmittelproduktion aus der ganzen Welt zusammen – für alle und in einer einzigartigen ökologischen Palette. Es werden Lebensmittel verwendet, die ausschließlich entlang der Donau angebaut werden. Dabei kommen sowohl traditionelle als auch moderne Methoden zum Einsatz. Diese befassen sich mit Fragen der Verschmutzung, der Wiederherstellung des Ökosystems und der Gesundheit, und zwar durch künstlerische Analysen und Experimente mit Mikroben.
Das Projekt stellt einen Ansatz für öffentliches Engagement in lokalen urbanen Ökologien dar, die eine Idee von kleinen Kostproben miteinbezieht – von Lebensmitteln, Wissenschaft und ökologischem Landbau. Alle Proben und Kostproben beziehen sich auf diese zentrale Idee von Lebensmitteln am Flussufer. Es beginnt mit einem Picknick im Buffet-Stil, das dann am nächsten Tag als Workshop fortgesetzt wird. Diese Sammlung kleiner „Häppchen“ von Kunst-, Wissenschafts- und kulinarischen Projekten skaliert Lebensmittelökologien von der mikrobiellen bis zur menschlichen Welt.
Präsentiert als ein Dégustationsmenü, werden diese „kleinen Happen“ jeweils aus einem kleinen Gericht, einem Getränk und einem ökologischen Kunstwerk bestehen. Der Ort dieses Projekts, das Stadtwerkstatt-Deckdock, ist ein stark frequentierter Freizeitbereich. Wir wollen das Bewusstsein durch öffentliche, künstlerische Ansätze für Lebensmittel verbreiten, und die Mikrobiologie als Katalysator für Veränderungen nutzen.




Julian Stadon / Roland van Dierendonck: Dieses Projekt baut auf früheren Kooperationen zwischen Julian und Roland an der WAAG BioHack Academy in den Niederlanden, sowie für das TeleAgriCulture-Projekt bei Cultivamos Cultura in Portugal auf. In Linz hat Julian in der Stadtwerkstatt einige Projekte gezeigt, die vernetzte technologische Ansätze zur Verbindung von Landwirtschaft, Ökologie, Lebensmittelproduktion und Kunst beinhalten. Roland hat zuvor das Ecosystematic Lunch entwickelt, eine essbare Reise durch die Nahrungsketten, und während er in Norwegen lebte, hat er unter anderem mit der norwegischen Bio-Art-Arena Workshops zum Thema Boden organisiert, bei denen Chromatographie zur Beurteilung der Bodengesundheit eingesetzt wurde. In diesem Projekt bringen sie eine kombinierte transdisziplinäre Expertise in der Anwendung von Methoden ein, die eine Brücke zwischen Kunst, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft schlagen, insbesondere mit dem Fokus auf die Schaffung neuer Formen der Erfahrung und Kommunikation.

https://vimeo.com/julianstadon
https://teleagriculture.org/
https://rolandvandierendonck.com/



Supported by the MakerXchange Project's Hyper Local/Hyper Local program/exchange.

Fb: @makersxchange.eu and @CreativeEuropeEU, Tw: @makersxchange, #CreativeEurope and @europe_creative, Insta: #CreativeEurope