Adriana Knouf and Franz Xaver
THE HERTZIAN SPACE


Radio Talk
Tue, 07. Sept, 13:00-14:00, Live stream @ Radio Fro
Sun, 12. Sept, 13:00-14:00, p-node radio and Radio Fro

Hertzian space is the realm of electromagnetic signals, of the transduction of phenomena into waves that can cross the room or the universe. Franz Xaver has set up the radio beacons at Station Messschiff Eleonore (a STWST residency project space) and other “floating islands” to explore this free space. Adriana Knouf is the radio artist in residency at the Ship Eleonore and the Amsterdam node for the Fall 2021. During the residency, she will be exploring new kinds of transmissions, modifications to existing modes of encoding, that will foreground the sonic possibilities of transmission in the shortwave spectrum, furthering the artistic exploration of the spectrum as medium.

During STWST48x7 Franz Xaver additionally operates a WSPR beacon in the Citizen Band (11Meter) to test different frequency ranges in the Hertzian space. In conjunction with MAKE ME A SIGNAL, the 4 hour 12 artist radio signal transmission project during STWST48x7, Adriana and Franz hold a one hour talk focusing on the spectrum in the hertzian space. As the upper reaches of the radio spectrum are auctioned off to the highest 5G-bidders, their talk voices their joint concerns for the enclosure and limiting of what radio can be, how commercial use under the guise of digital efficiency limits the unknown possibilities of these regions of Hertzian space, how artists can maintain and grow their capabilities to research and build within this space?What new techniques or modes can radio artists explore using custom antennas, software-defined radios, and repurposing of amateur radio spectrum?

Conjunction with Manipulating the Signal and MAKE ME A SIGNAL.




Adriana Knouf, PhD (US) works as an artist, writer, and xenologist. She engages with topics such as wet media, space art, satellites, radio transmission, non-human encounters, drone flight, queer and trans futurities, machine learning, the voice, and papermaking. She is the Founding Facilitator of the tranxxenolab, a nomadic artistic research laboratory that promotes entanglements among entities trans and xeno. Adriana regularly presents her artistic research around the world and beyond, including a work that has flown aboard the International Space Station. https://zeitkunst.org

Franz Xaver (AT) has studied at the Academy of Applied Art, department of “Visual Communication” founded by Peter Weibel. Subsequently he was teaching computer languages, audio-visual productions, electronics and electrical technics at the same Academy until 1992. At the Technical University of Graz he was lecturing at the department “Institut für Baukunst” “CommunicationTheory”. He was participating in numerous exhibitions in Austria and abroad, including Ars Electronica, Aperto Biennale di Venezia, Triennale Milano, Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle Bonn in Germany. Director of Medienkunstlabor in Kunsthaus Graz 2003-2007. Since 2008 he works in Stadtwerkstatt Linz. http://stwst.at http://donowtic.com



DOCUMENTATION

Adriana Knouf und Franz Xaver
DER HERTZ'SCHE RAUM


Radio-Talk
Di, 07. Sept, 13:00-14:00, Live-Stream @ Radio Fro
So, 12. Sept, 13:00-14:00, p-node radio und Radio Fro

Der Hertzsche Raum ist das Reich der elektromagnetischen Signale und der Umwandlung von Phänomenen in Wellen, die den Raum oder das Universum durchqueren können. Franz Xaver hat Bakensender auf der Messschiff Eleonore und auf anderen „schwimmenden Inseln“ errichtet, um diesen freien Raum zu erkunden. Adriana Knouf ist die Radiokünstlerin in Residence auf der Eleonore und weiters am Amsterdamer Knotenpunkt im Herbst 2021. Während der Residency wird sie neue Arten von Übertragungen und Modifikationen bestehender Codierungsarten erforschen. Ebenso wird sie die die klanglichen Möglichkeiten der Übertragung im Kurzwellenspektrum und die künstlerische Erforschung des Mediums in den Vordergrund stellen.

Während STWST48x7 betreibt Franz Xaver zusätzlich eine WSPR-Bake im Citizen Band 11m, um verschiedene Frequenzbereiche im Hertzschen Raum zu testen. In Verbindung mit MAKE ME A SIGNAL, dem 4-stündigen 12-Artists-Radiosignal-Transmission-Projekts während STWST48x7, halten Adriana und Franz einen einstündigen Vortrag, der sich auf das Spektrum im Hertzschen Raum konzentriert. Während die oberen Bereiche des Funkspektrums an die höchsten 5G-Bieter versteigert werden, äußern sie in ihrem Vortrag ihre gemeinsame Besorgnis über die Bedeutimgsverengung und Begrenzung dessen, was Radio sein kann. Es geht darum, wie die kommerzielle Nutzung unter dem Deckmantel der digitalen Effizienz die unbekannten Möglichkeiten dieser Regionen des hertzianischen Raums einschränkt und wie KünstlerInnen ihre Fähigkeiten, in diesem Raum zu forschen und zu arbeiten, aufrechterhalten und ausbauen können … … Was sind die neuen Techniken oder Modi für Radio-Artists - hinsichtlich benutzerdefinierter Antennen, softwaredefinierter Funkgeräte und der Verwendung von Amateurfunkfrequenzen?

In Verbindung mit Manipulating the Signal und MAKE ME A SIGNAL.





Adriana Knouf, PhD (US) arbeitet als Künstlerin, Autorin und Xenologin. Sie beschäftigt sich mit Themen wie Wet Media, Weltraumkunst, Satelliten, Funkübertragung, nicht-menschlichen Begegnungen, Drohnenflug, Queer- und Trans-Futurities, maschinellem Lernen, der Stimme und Papierherstellung. Sie ist die Gründerin des tranxxenolab, eines nomadischen künstlerischen Forschungslabors, das Verflechtungen zwischen trans und xeno fördert. Adriana präsentiert ihre künstlerische Forschung regelmäßig auf der ganzen Welt und darüber hinaus, einschließlich einer Arbeit, die an Bord der Internationalen Raumstation geflogen ist. https://zeitkunst.org

Franz Xaver (AT) hat an der von Peter Weibel gegründeten Akademie für angewandte Kunst, Fachbereich „Visuelle Kommunikation“, studiert. Anschließend unterrichtete er bis 1992 an der gleichen Akademie Computersprachen, audiovisuelle Produktionen, Elektronik und Elektrotechnik. An der Technischen Universität Graz lehrte er an der Abteilung „Institut für Baukunst“ Kommunikationstheorie. Er nahm an zahlreichen Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland teil, darunter Ars Electronica, Aperto Biennale di Venezia, Triennale Milano, Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle Bonn in Deutschland. Leiter des Medienkunstlabors im Kunsthaus Graz 2003-2007. Seit 2008 arbeitet er in der Stadtwerkstatt Linz. http://stwst.at http://donowtic.com



DOKUMENTATION